How many projects can one manage?

Frank Patrick questions as to how many projects can a project manager effectively manage?  He writes:

the answer I was coming up with was rife with so many instaces of "it depends…." that it was feeling meaningless. Instead, I’m planning to turn my attention to identifying symptoms of having too many projects on one’s plate.

Incidentally, I interviewed a Senior Manager from a leading IT organization yesterday and almost fell off my chair when he said that he is currently managing more than 60 projects.  Assumming this person was exaggerating (since one can define a project in multiple ways), I am waiting to see what symptoms Patrick would come up with in his future posts.

Leave a Reply

