Book Meme

Via  Nirmala :

Number of books I own: Never counted …. maybe a few hundred mostly technical and management…I know for sure that I am trying to get rid of at least 60 of them….without luck!

Last book I bought: Zahir by Paulo Coelho: Didn’t like it!

Last book I read: Prior to reading Zahir, on the way back from Chicago to Bangalore, I was searching for a book to read in the flight and stumbled across "Into the Blue: A Father’s flight and a Daughter’s return by Susan Edsall"; picked it up only because the cover and the titled looked interesting. This book is touching, uplifting and written with an in-your-face attitude. I recommend this book highly….it is a great example of the author taking 100% responsibility for her father’s life. Highly engrossing, I finished reading this 260 odd pages book in one go in the Chicago-Frankfurt haul!

Five books that mean a lot to me:

1) The Bhagvad Gita for Daily Living by Eknath Easwaran: This 3 volume set has been my daily companion for months now. I make it a point to read a few passages every day before retiring for the day.

2) Tuesdays with Morrie: This book reminded me of the time (whatever little it was) I spent with my grandfather during the last few years of his life.

3) God Loves Fun by Sri Sri Ravi Shankar: Despite the odd sounding title, this book is a delight to read and re-read. Together along with Celebrating Silence and Narada Bhakti Sutras – this trilogy finds a special place in my bookshelf for obvious reasons.

4) Business is People by Rustomji & Parkinson and F1rst among Equals are two books that I think anyone working in teams and leading people should read. Rustomji’ books are written in a very easy going, humorous manner but deliver the message spot on. If you haven’t read Rustomji, you have missed something! BTW, finding books by Rustomji and Parkinson is a difficult task. As you can see, the only link I could find was in old and rare books….Premier and Gangarams in Bangalore stock them.

5) Waltzing with bears by TomDeMarco: I have been a great fan of TDM since I first read his book on Systems Analysis in late 80′. Tom drives home the message of managing risks in S/W development projects. A must read for anyone managing software development projects.

Tag 5 others: I have a very sparse readership on this blog, so fortunately/unfortunately, this thread will end here.

Leave a Reply

