The 84th problem.

Read a wonderful parable today in Indian Express and while I couldn’t find the link, I found the same story on [http://wisdomquarterly.blogspot.in/2011/07/83-problems-buddhist-sutraparable.html] Posting it out here.

 

THUS HAVE I NOT HEARD. Once while the Buddha was staying near the fields, a farmer came to him, paid his respects, sat to one side, and said:

“O, great teacher, I am but a simple farmer. I love farming. But sometimes there is drought, at other times flooding. I am a husband. I love being married. But sometimes my spouse is indifferent, at other times smothering. I am a father. I love being a parent. But sometimes my children are dull [incorrigible], at other times unruly. What am I to do?

The Buddha looked at the farmer with great compassion, extended both hands, and said: “Sorry, I can’t help you with those kinds of worldly problems.”

The farmer was dumbstruck for a moment. When he regained his composure, he argued: “Wait a minute. People speak in praise of you from all quarters. They come to you seeking advice for all things. And they go away enlightened. You’re famous!”

“Sorry,” the Buddha repeated, “there’s nothing I can do to help you. Every person has 83 problems. And I can’t help them with that.”

“Well, tell me,” the farmer asked calmly hoping to make the best of his visit, “what can you help me with?”

“I can help you with the 84th problem.”

“O, and what’s that?” the farmer leaned in.

“The 84th problem is the desire not to have any problems.

The farmer was overjoyed. And the Buddha taught him how to overcome suffering.

Leave a Reply

