The Game

Five Thousand years ago
in the midst of a battlefield,
the awareness having gone,
down in the dumps, Arjuna,
had the presence of mind
to ask The Lord this question:
 
How does one maintain a
constant awareness?
 
The Radiant Lord,
creator of this Universe,
compassionately enumerates
his presence in all things
animate and inanimate
in this magnificent creation
of His. 
 
As He lists out his omnipresence
one stops to savor and relish
every word uttered as the creator
talks of His awe-inspiring creation
and His underlying presence
behind the entirety, stirring 
unknown chords in my heart,
as one vaguely recognizes familiar
faces on the street.
 
Passing through the sands
of time, five thousand years later,
I wonder at the same question
as the awareness of the presence
dissipates in the humdrum of daily life.
 
All it takes is an email, 
a harsh exchange,
an unmet expectation,
a plan gone wrong,
tough life challenges,
and hundreds of things,
big and small 
enough to throw me 
out of equilibrium,
and for the presence to
vanish as the mind races
to abysmally low depths.
 
As I sit on the yoga mat
going through the sadhana,
so beautifully laid out by My Master
The practice becomes 
experiential as the breath
recharges the body and brings
the mind back to equilibrium.
 
The Lord tells Arjuna,
recognize My presence 
through My attributes and
in everything.
 
I struggle enormously
to recognize and
to make that Awareness
and Presence my own;
 
I want it – not just in flashes, 
not just in deep meditation,
not just as an intellectual understanding –
but in an unbroken continuum
all throughout, 
on and off the mat.
 
Till then, I have to 
make an effort to see
that presence
in that email,
in that harsh-exchange,
in that unmet expectations,
in life’s tough challenges
and in all the things
that throw me off balance…
 
The game, I guess is, 
to get thrown off balance,
and to get up and say
Gotcha! I caught you there!
and then the Lord will
smile for he would have
found a playmate willing
to play His game on His turf
with His rules!
 
Bhagavad Gita, Chapter 10. Guruji gave a commentary on this chapter this week and unfortunately haven’t been able to watch it yet. This poem came up today after the Sadhana and I thought I will share it with you. 
 
Don’t forget to pass around the word about my book “The Gita in My Homework“.
Leave a Reply

