I sit stunned!

A #Janamashtmi #poem

 
What it would be then to listen to
the music your flute would play?
What it would be like to hear you
sing?

Millions, since times immemorial;
The great rishis, sages, monks
sadhus, preachers, poets,
householders, warriors, and all others;
with great devotion,
love and fervor;
have called You in their own ways.

 

A blind Surdas would
sing an accurate description
of your Shringar, captivating
and astonishing us even today.

 

The deeply devotional poems of Meera;
the mystical chants of Chaitanya Mahaprabhu;
the stunning poetry of Purandhara Dasa;
every word steeped deep in devotion and love
tugging our hearts and opening them up
in deep love for you;
yet each aching in their own ways
to hear you play your melodious flute;

 

What would it be like to hear you sing?

 

And a random thought
crossed my mind.
I sit stunned. Recoiling
at the audacity of the thought!

 

How do I say this
with utmost humility?

 

You sang through me!

 

And yet,
I couldn’t recognize
that it was You!
I can’t fathom the reason either
to be so deserving!

 

I sit stunned,
the Radiant One,
passed by,
paused,
sang through me
and yet
I couldn’t recognize
Him!
Leave a Reply

