Happiness is.

This comes a day late.

Guruji tweeted “What does Happiness mean to you? #WorldHappinessDay”; rather than replying in 140 characters, I thought, let me pen down a poem. It is also the #WorldPoetryDay today

Dear Gurudev, I found
Happiness when

– I did my
first Art of Living course
and experienced the beautiful
and sublime Sudarshan Kriya

– I found health
when I so needed it;
through the practices of
Kriya and Meditation;

– I am immersed in Satsangs;
the joy, beauty, and grace
that flows…how
does one describe it?

– I become an instrument
in spreading peace and knowledge;
so very grateful for it;

– I got an opportunity to
contribute a bit towards the society;

– I discovered the deep joy 
that Meditation has to offer

– I attended the joyful festivals at Ashram;

– in the mystical Monday morning Rudra Puja’s

– in the deep silence in those
advanced meditation programs
so satiating, yet the longing for more;

– I had the rare opportunity to travel with you

– I was beyond happiness when we
were fortunate to host you at our home!
That was seismic 10 on a Happiness Scale!!
and I could go on and on!

Yet, beyond events,
Happiness right now is
the recognition that –
despite the ups and downs in life;
despite the stumbles on the path;
despite everything else –
I belong to you!

That recognition
and remembrance
is Happiness for me
and that is enough!

Leave a Reply

